Skip to main content

PAT Scheme


Perform Achieve and Trade (PAT) is a scheme under the National Mission on Enhanced Energy Efficiency (NMEEE). NMEEE is one of the eight Missions under the National Action Plan on Climate Change (NAPCC). Bureau of Energy efficiency (BEE) under Ministry of Power is the nodal agency for implementing Perform Achieve Trade (PAT) scheme.

PAT is a market based mechanism to enhance the cost effectiveness in improving the Energy Efficiency in Energy Intensive industries. The Energy Intensive Industries designated to implement this scheme are notified through a Gazette Notification. The Notification designating the Industries is issued at the beginning of each PAT Cycle normally on 31st March. Each PAT Cycle runs for three years from the date of notification.  The notification details the production and specific energy consumption (SEC) of DC in the baseline year and provides the target for reduction in the SEC by the end of the PAT Cycle.

Upon issuance of the notification each designated industry, which is technically called a designated Consumer (DC) as per the EC Act, has to submit Action Plan and Form -1 within three months of its notification as a DC. Subsequently, DC has to get its Mandatory Energy Audit (MEA) conducted within eighteen months from the date of notification as a DC.

This MEA is conducted by a BEE certified Accredited Energy Auditor. As the outcome of the MEA, a document called Form-2 is generated which is jointly endorsed by the representative of the DC and the AEA firm. Form-2 is the plan for reducing the SEC within the PAT Cycle of three years. DC has to submit Form-3 (every year) which will include the measure undertaken by the DC within one year.

The DC upon completion of the PAT cycle will engage an EmAEA for conducting Monitoring and Verification Audit. The DC will submit the PAT assessment documents (PADs) which includes Form A, Form B and the audit report to SDA with a copy to BEE within 4 months of the completion of the cycle.

This cycle repeats every 3 years from the date of last report submission.

Industry Department, PCRA is a major contributor in the execution of PAT scheme. PCRA has a dedicated team of 16 Nos of Certified Energy Professionals and 57 Nos of Empaneled Energy Audit Firms to actively pursue the mission for enhancing energy efficiency. PCRA is also registered as EmAEA with Bureau of Energy Efficiency. PCRA has completed a total of  90 Mandatory Energy Audits  and Monitoring and verification audits under PAT regime, which includes audit for  42 Thermal Power Plants, 30 Refineries (PAT Cycle II & VI) , 4 Iron & Steel Plants, 3 Textile Industries ,1 Chlor-Alkali Industry, 3 Petrochemical Plants ,2 Buildings,1 Cement plant  and 4 Zonal Railways. Energy conservations achieved through these endeavors of PCRA are part of our action plan to meet the target of meeting 10% import reduction by 2025. .Through these efforts we have identified energy conservation measures of 12.80 lakh Tons of Oil Equivalent (TOE) as on 31st, March 2022.

PCRA has received a prestigious order of carrying out  Mandatory Energy Audit of 15 Nos of PSU Refineries under PAT cycle VI notified vide Gazette Notification Number S.O. 1254E dated 13th April 2020 .Mandatory Energy Audit of Refineries in PAT Cycle-VI have been completed meticulously despite countrywide restrictions adhering timelines. This was a achieved by carving out an immaculate action plan involving nearly 60% of our Engineers and diligent continuous monitoring on pan India basis.

Mandatory Energy Audit under PAT Cycle VI has been completed for following 15 Refineries:-

              1)  IOCL Barauni Refinery

              2)  Mangalore Refinery & Petrochemicals Limited

              3)  IOCL Panipat Refinery

              4)  IOCL Haldia Refinery

              5)  IOCL Paradeep Refinery

              6)  BPCL Mumbai Refinery

              7)  BPCL Numaligarh Refinery

              8)  Chennai Petroleum Corporation Limited

              9)  IOCL Mathura Refinery

            10)  BPCL Kochi Refinery

            11)   IOCL Guwahati Refinery

            12)   IOCL Bongaigaon

            13)  HPCL Mumbai Refinery

            14)  IOCL Gujarat Refinery

            15)  HPCL Vizag Refinery